Top Sri Lankan musician Sunil Perera of the Gypsies on Vernon Corea

The hugely popular lead singer of The Gypsies group, Sri Lankan musician Sunil Perera remembers the legendary broadcaster Vernon Corea.

One of Sri Lanka’s legendary musicians, Sunil Perera of the Gypsies has released a message on Vernon Corea marking his tenth death anniversary:

‘I am contributing a message to the memory of Vernon Corea – I do so with mixed feelings, both happy and sad.

Happy because it brings back memories of good times gone by. Vernon did a lot for me; in fact he literally raised the curtain and switched on the lights to introduce the Gypsies to the enterainment world. Something for which my brother Piyal and I are ever so grateful. The rest is history.

Sad because I cannot be part of the distinguished gathering I am sure will be present on the occasion. I am out of Colombo for for some days and unfortunately Saturday 29th September falls within that time.

You could be rest assured your family will be very much in my thoughts on the day.’

A Memorial Service to Vernon Corea takes place on Saturday 29th September at 5 p.m. at St. Paul’s Church Milagiriya.

