Prime Minister of Ceylon Mrs Sirimavo Bandaranaike at 10 Downing Street with British PM Sir Alec Douglas-Home in 1962

The world’s first woman Prime Minister, Mrs Sirimavo Bandaranaike with the British Prime Minister Sir Alec Douglas-Home in the garden of 10 Downing Street in London at the Commonwealth Premiers Conference in 1963.The Ministers include Dr Kwame Nkrumah Prime Minister of Ghana, Lester Pearson Prime Minister of Canada, Mrs Sirimavo Bandaranaike Prime Minister of Ceylon (Sri Lanka), Dr Hastings Banda Prime Minister of Malawi, Jomo Kenyatta Prime Minister of Kenya, Dr Milton Obote Prime Minister of Uganda, Dr Eric Williams, Julius Nyerere President of Tanganyika, Sir Abubakar Balewar Prime Minister of Nigeria, Sir Robert Menzies Prime Minister of Australia, Mr D. Sangster of Jamaica, Mr K. J. Holyoake, Prime Minister of New Zealand and Mr Spyros Kyprianou Foreign Minister of Cyprus.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s